Introduction | Geography | History | Religious Education

What do we study in History?

Year 7 takes us back to ancient History by beginning our journey with the exploring the invasions of Britain by the Celts and Romans, before moving onto to study the expansion of the Roman Empire and its legacy in more depth. We then take a journey to to 1066 and The Battle of Hastings.  Finally, we delve into British life in medieval times, their villages, their religion and their living conditions and study the infamous Richard III.

Year 8 moves us forward in the how the United Kingdom was formed through the lives of the Tudors and Stuarts, as well as Oliver Cromwell.  We then explore a variety of revolutions that took place, such as the Industrial Revolution and the French Revolution.  Finally we learn about the expansion of the British Empire and slavery.

Year 9 sees the start of the preparation pupils for GCSE exams and begins to investigate 20th Century conflict, with particular focus on the causes and effects of World War One and Two.  Pupils will sit an end of year exam in the summer term.

History GCSE Syllabus

Year 9 Spring and Summer Term

  • The Origins of the Second World War (GCSE Unit 1) – The Treaty of Versailles, the League of Nations, the rise of the Dictators, Hitler’s Foreign Policy, Appeasement.

Year 10

  • The USA (1920-1973) (GCSE Unit 2) – The ‘Roaring Twenties’; Prohibition; Gangsters; Entertainment; Flappers; Immigration; the Ku Klux Klan; the Great Depression; the New Deal; Recovery; the ‘American Dream’; McCarthy Witch Hunts; Rock ‘n’ Roll; Civil Rights; Martin Luther King; Black Power; JFK.
  • Britain: Health and the People (GCSE Unit 3) – Legacy of the Ancient World; Medieval Medicine; the Black Death; ‘Quack’ methods of treatment, Vaccination, Germ Theory, a surgical revolution, Public Health during the Nineteenth Century, modern treatment, pharmaceuticals, Penicillin, the impact of the Second World War; National Health Service, 21st century Medicine.

Year 11

  • Elizabethan England( GCSE Unit 4) – Elizabeth’s court; the marriage question; Essex’s rebellion; the ‘Golden Age’; the poor during the Elizabethan Age; English sailors – Hawkins, Drake, and Raleigh; the Religious Settlement; Mary, Queen of Scots; the Spanish Armada.


  • AQA Syllabus (This is to be accredited)
  • Two Exams in June 2018
  • Paper 1 (Understanding the Modern World) – Units 1 & 2 (50%)
  • Paper 2 (Shaping the Nation) – Units 3 & 4 (50%)
    • Each paper = 1hr 45mins; 84 Marks (4 marks for Spelling, Punctuation, Grammar and Specialist Terminology)

← Back to Humanities