Local Governing Body

Local Governing Body of Wigston Academy

The Governing Body’s work centres on the work of two committees (Standards Committee and Community Committee) that meet termly.  These committees cover the main aspects of the school’s work: the quality and standards of pupil achievement and community matters.  These committees meet during the full meetings of the Local Governing Body who report to Trustees.  Underpinning these formal contacts is a wide range of other contacts including regular meetings between the Headteacher and the Chair of Governors, site inspections and sitting on interview panels.  In all these ways Governors have become to know the school.

The Governing Body’s statutory duties, for example regarding safeguarding and employment are all covered by this committee approach.

The Governing Body’s relationship with the school is based on trust and openness.  This openness is evident in the sharing of detailed information as the school pursues its agreed improvement targets.  In turn this has produced knowledgeable governors who fully understand what is being done and so are able to challenge as ‘critical friends’.

A similar structure of governance at Wigston College is fully established and can be viewed on the Wigston College website.

All correspondence for the Local Governing Body should be sent to Mr K Loydall, Wigston Academy, Station Road, Wigston, Leicestershire. LE18 2DT

Chair of Wigston Academy LGB

Title Forename Surname Date of Appointment Date Term of Office Ends Appointing Body Telephone Number Direct Email Address
Mr Kevin Loydall 01 September 2015 31 August 2018 Appointed by GB/Board 0116 3676055 kevin195027@gmail.com

Academy LGB

Title Forename Surname Date of Appointment Date Term of Office Ends Appointing Body
Mrs Claire McGorum 22 March 2016 21 March 2019 Appointed by GB/Board
Dr Gary Willars 01 September 2015 31 August 2018 Appointed by GB/Board
Mr Robin Woolley 01 September 2015 08 March 2018 Appointed by GB/Board
Mrs Elizabeth Abbott 25 January 2017 24 January 2021 Appointed by GB/Board
Mr Richard Pell 01 September 2015 12 October 2019 Elected by School Staff
Mrs Diane Atkinson 01 February 2016 31 January 2020 Elected by School Staff
Ms Anne Miller 01 September 2015 25 August 2026 Ex-Officio (by virtue of office)*

* Headteacher of Wigston Academy


Miss A Royal

Conflicts of Interest Declared

Mr Kevin Loydall Elected Member of Oadby & Wigston Borough Council
Governor at Water Leys Primary School
Magistrate at LMC
Independent provider of Independent Health, Safety & Training Service
Trustee of Age UK
Member and Past President of Oadby & Wigston Lions Club Charity
Wife is County & Borough Councillor
Committee Member of ABF Soldiers Charity
Co-opted Governor of  Thythorn Field Primary School
Dr Gary Willars Lecturer at University of Leicester
Wife’s company – Janet Willars Ltd